Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Monday, May 27
The Indiana Daily Student

IU launches committee for new Media School dean after previous search failed 


IU Bloomington Provost and Executive Vice President Rahul Shrivastav has appointed a new committee to identify candidates for the position of dean for The Media School after a previous search failed. The committee announced it will begin a relaunch of the initial search from summer 2021, which did not provide a final candidate, but was in the semi-finalist stage.  

Walter Gantz is serving as interim dean of the Media School after the school’s founding Dean, James Shanahan, stepped down in July 2021. 

The committee includes representatives of faculty, staff and students at IU Bloomington. Peg Faimon, the founding dean of the Eskenazi School of Art, Architecture, and Design will chair the committee. 

Members of the committee include: 

  • Akinwumi Adesokan, Associate Professor 

  • Lela Boys-Sibley, Senior, Journalism 

  • Paul Caine, President, On Location and IMG Events 

  • Susan Kelly, Senior Lecturer 

  • Gerry Lanosga, Associate Professor 

  • Nicole Martins, Associate Professor 

  • Ron McFall, Director of Administration and Strategic Initiatives 

  • Elaine Monaghan, Professor of Practice 

  • Xan Smith, Doctoral Student and Research Assistant  

  • Matt Waller, Senior Executive Advisor to the Provost  

The dean will administer the school’s recruitment and retention plans, research mission, facilities and partnerships, as well as its curriculum, which includes four undergraduate majors with 10 concentrations, a master of science with five concentrations, a master of arts and a Ph.D. program. 

Get stories like this in your inbox