Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Thursday, June 13
The Indiana Daily Student

sports track & field

Ten members of Indiana women’s track and field team earn NCAA Preliminary Round bids


Ten Indiana women’s track and field athletes qualified for the NCAA East Preliminary Round competition on May 25-28, according to a list released by the NCAA on Thursday. The Hoosiers qualified for 11 different events in total, and three athletes earned bids for two events.

Freshman Jayden Ulrich, the Big Ten discus champion, qualified as the No. 1 seed in the same event. She will be joined by redshirt senior Maddy Pollard. Pollard and Ulrich will also compete in shot put as the seventh and eighth seeds, respectively.

Sophomore Mahogany Jenkins, the third Hoosier to qualify in two events, will compete in both high and triple jump. Jenkins is seeded 29th in high jump, and she claimed the 48th and final spot in triple jump.

Senior Paola Fernandez-Sola earned the fourth seed in long jump after winning the bronze medal at the Big Ten Championships. Redshirt senior Anna Watson will participate in the pole vault competition, as the 23rd seed. Freshman Makayla Hunter rounds out the list of Hoosiers competing in field events as the 45th seed in javelin.  

Sophomore Morgan Snow, the only Hoosier sprinter to qualify for the NCAA preliminaries, will enter the 400-meter dash as the 41st seed. Graduate student Kelly Mindak, the sole middle-distance runner, grabbed the last spot in the 800-meter run.

Long-distance runners seniors Hannah Stoffel and Sarah Schmitt will compete in the 1500-meter race and 5000-meter race, respectively. Stoffel is seeded 24th and Schmitt 18th. 

The Billy Hayes Track in Bloomington will host the East Preliminaries. From there, the top-12 athletes in each event will qualify for the NCAA Championships in Eugene, Oregon, which will be held from June 8-11.

Get stories like this in your inbox