Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Friday, Dec. 8
The Indiana Daily Student

sports football

IU football’s Tom Allen named AFCA National Coach of the Year


IU football head coach Tom Allen was named the 2020 American Football Coaches Association National Coach of the Year on Tuesday.

He is the third IU coach to win the award, joining Bo McMillin and John Pont, who won in 1945 and 1967 respectively.

Active AFCA members at Football Bowl Subdivision schools vote on the award. Allen was honored at a virtual AFCA awards ceremony.

Allen was named the Region 3 Coach of the Year by AFCA in December. Each region’s coach of the year becomes a finalist for the national award.

The four other finalists were the University of Cincinnati’s Luke Fickell, Marshall University’s Doc Holliday, Coastal Carolina University’s Jamey Chadwell and San Jose State University’s Brent Brennan.

Get stories like this in your inbox