Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Monday, April 15
The Indiana Daily Student

sports women's basketball football

Nick Westbrook, Brenna Wise win Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards


Former IU athletes Nick Westbrook and Brenna Wise were named Wednesday as recipients of Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards.

One member of each varsity athletic team at every Big Ten university is chosen by their institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. Two athletes are selected from these honorees as Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners.

Westbrook, a former wide receiver for IU football, is a four-time Academic All-Big Ten selection.

Westbrook played in the 2020 East-West Shrine Bowl on January 18. Proceeds from the game are donated to Shriner’s Hospitals for Children. 

Wise, a former forward for the IU women’s basketball team, also earned the award during the 2018-19 academic year. Wise was a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award, which recognizes achievements in competition as well as in the classroom and community.

Wise, the team’s lone senior, started for the Hoosiers in every game of the 2019-20 season, leading the team in both total offensive rebounds with 54 and rebounds per game with 5.9.

Get stories like this in your inbox