IU athletics earns 67 Big Ten Distinguished Honors

The Big Ten announced Wednesday that 1,098 student-athletes have earned the Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award. 

The list includes athletes from all 14 Big Ten schools and 38 different sports who managed to have a GPA of 3.7 or higher in the previous academic year. IU saw 67 athletes make the list across 19 of its 24 sports.

The 67 honorees is the second-highest total in IU history.

"We are extremely proud of these 67 individuals, who have separated themselves with their excellence in the classroom,” said Fred Glass, IU Vice President and Director of Intercollegiate Athletics.

The list of all the athletes is below:


Drew Ashley

Men’s basketball

Vijay Blackmon

Women’s basketball

Brenna Wise and Grace Withrow

Field hockey

Sachi Ananias and Jessica Morford


Harry Crider and Michael McGinnis

Men’s golf

Evan Yakubov


Bayasgalan Batsaikhan, Connie Brahm, Antonia Frappell, Ellie Meinzer, Maddie Pierce, Liz Saunders, Sydney Shuert, Paige Spiller and Sophia Wickersham

Men’s soccer

John Bannec and Sean Caulfield

Women’s soccer

Abby Allen, Caroline Dreher, Melanie Forbes, Allison Jorden, Bethany Kopel, Justine Lynn, Hanna Nemeth, Maya Piper and Meghan Scott


Annika Baez, Karly Combs, Makayla Ferrari, Sarah Galovich and Gabbi Jenkins

Men’s swimming and diving

Wyeth Brock, Andrew Capobianco, Clark Carter, James Connor, Gage Hamill and Gary Kostbade

Women’s swimming and diving

Mackenzie Atencio, Laurel Eiber, Josie Grotte, Christine Jensen and Laura Morley 

Men’s tennis

Payam Ahmadi, Zac Brodney, Bennett Crane and Andrew Redding

Women’s tennis

Anna McCoy and Michelle McKamey

Men’s track and field

Adam Coulon, Daniel Kuhn, Kyle Mau, Alexander Shinnerl, Ben Veatch and Cooper Williams

Women’s track and field

Jenna Jungles, Leah Moran, Hannah Stoffel and Grace Walther


Meaghan Koors and Nora Meehan

Water polo

Riley Beemer


Buddy Conley, Jake Danishek and Spencer Irick

Like what you're reading? Support independent, award-winning college journalism on this site. Donate here.

More in Sports

Comments powered by Disqus