Indiana Daily Student

Three softball players honored by the Big Ten

Three IU softball players picked up conference honors Wednesday, the Big Ten confrence announced in a press release Wednesday.

Senior infielder CaraMia Tsirigos was named a First Team All-Big Ten selection, junior outfielder Rebecca Blitz earned a spot as a Second Team All-Big Ten player and junior infielder Rachel O’Malley became the first IU player chosen to the Big Ten All-Defensive Team.

Additionally, senior infielder Erin Lehman was chosen as IU’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree.

The selection of Tsirigos to the First Team marked the first time since 2012 that an IU player reweceived the honor. That year it was senior outfielder Shannon Cawley who was named to the first team.

Tsirigos serves as IU’s designated hitter and has hit for a .357 average in conference play. She leads IU with eight home runs this season.

It was the second straight season Blitz earned Second Team All-Big Ten accolades.

Blitz leads IU with a .338 batting average, 54 hits and 16 stolen bases. She has scored 104 runs during her IU career, the sixth most in program history.

The Big Ten All-Defensive Team was created in 2013. O’Malley is IU’s first selection to the team.

She’s posted a career-best .958 fielding percentage over the course of the season, with a .977 mark in Big Ten play.

IU qualified for the Big Ten Tournament with a 9-14 record in Big Ten play. IU opens the single-elimination tournament with a first round game against Michigan State on Thursday afternoon in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Like what you're reading?

Get more award-winning content delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up for our Weekly Recap.

Signup today!
Like what you're reading? Support independent, award-winning college journalism on this site. Donate here.

Powered by Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2022 Indiana Daily Student