Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Saturday, June 15
The Indiana Daily Student

sports little 500

Emily Carrico named Little 500’s new race director


On Jan. 18, IU Foundation announced Emily Carrico to be the new Little 500 race director. Prior to accepting the position, Carrico worked for the City of Bloomington’s Parks & Recreation department and is a registered dietitian.  

“I know how much a bike (race), specifically Little 500, has impacted my life as an athlete, as a leader and as a student,” Carrico said. “To have a chance to support that and know that others can have that experience was really what compelled me to apply for the position.” 

Carrico will be mentoring the student leaders who are responsible for managing items related to the Little 500 race. This includes leading the spring series cycling events and collaborating with the foundation and the student foundation staff to ensure smooth operation of the Little 500 races according to an IU Foundation news release on Jan. 18.  

“Emily’s position as a whole is a caretaker of the tradition that is the Little 500 as well as the riders that are a part of it,” Director of the IU Student Foundation Trent McGee said. “She gets to focus on that full time and make sure that the students that are a part of that great tradition are developed into great leaders, that they understand why we do the Little 500 and their own participation in the Students Helping Students campaign.”

Carrico says due to COVID-19, participation in women’s field teams has decreased. She is currently working with the Riders Council of the Little 500 to recruit new women’s teams and restart former ones for the upcoming race. 

“A long-term goal is continuing to empower students and develop their leadership skills and see how we do that because we have those great traditions of Little 500 and try to make sure that we are keeping up with good times,” Carrico said. 

The 35th women’s Little 500 will be at 4 p.m. on April 21. The 72nd men’s Little 500 will be at 2 p.m. on April 22. Both races will be held at Bill Armstrong Stadium. 

Get stories like this in your inbox