Indiana Daily Student

Two large coalitions win big in IUSG Congressional Elections

The IU Student Government Election Commission released the preliminary list of the 57 candidates who will be seated in the 2020-21 IUSG Congress. The elections were held last week. 

Two coalitions, ReviveIU and ReImagineIU, endorsed a large set of candidates, with ReviveIU endorsing more than 50 candidates and ReImagineIU supporting more than 30. 

ReviveIU-endorsed candidates won 23 of the seats, including quite a few of the residential seats. Those 23 seats make up just less than half of the total candidates the coalition endorsed for the election.

ReImagineIU’s candidates had a very strong showing, specifically in seats open for those living off campus. Of its endorsed candidates, 17won their elections, which is more than half of the candidates it endorsed. 

Together, the two coalitions picks make up all but 10 of the candidates who were seated in this year’s IUSG Congress. 

IUSG announced on social media that voter participation quadrupled for this year's congressional election.

The election commission sent the results to the IUSG Supreme Court and it approved the election on Sunday. The Supreme Court also said there are no outstanding appeals before it or the election commission in the statement.

The new members are as follows: 

Central Neighborhood: 

  • Peyton Eaton
  • Kat Griffith
  • Margaret Robinson

College of Arts and Sciences:

  • Kaitlin Scott
  • Nathan Ryder
  • Lewis Chube
  • Shems Al-Ubaidi
  • Alfonso Soto III
  • Willow Johnson
  • Jiang Qian

Apartment and Family Housing:

  • Martin Meyers

Jacobs School of Music:

  • Caroline Goodwin

Kelley School of Business:

  • Chris Wilson
  • Chase Wampler
  • Tianshuo Bai
  • Steven Rigg
  • Madeline McKay
  • Jordan Kaseff

Maurer School of Law:

  • Victor Peters

Northwest Neighborhood:

  • Katie Grant
  • Jack Scolaro

Off Campus:

  • Isaiah Phillips
  • Rebekah Amya
  • Silvia Lombardo
  • Carling Louden
  • Tanner Shapiro
  • Yusef Alsikafi
  • Sahil Patel
  • Celeste Coughlin
  • Gloria Masih
  • Veronica Rooney
  • EJ Wiggins
  • Siddarth Das
  • Cora Gordon
  • Lauren Lapesarde
  • Sophie Amick
  • Kyle Reynolds
  • Kate Laherty
  • Noah Moore
  • Jerrett Alexander

O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs: 

  • Brian Hancock
  • Barrett Wright
  • School of Education:
  • Evelyn Eggers

School of Informatics, Science, and Technology:

  • Dylan Minichiello
  • Austin Cornell
  • School of Public Health:
  • Dillon Richard
  • Olivia Daughtery
  • School of Social Work: 
  • Kirsten Fox

Sorority and Fraternity Housing:

  • Ben Greller
  • James Core
  • Madison Smith

Southeast Neighborhood:

  • Jack Milton
  • Allyson McBride

University Division:

  • John Wagoner
  • Michael Schnoll
  • Matthew Ahmann
  • Kye J Zimmerman

Like what you're reading?

Get more award-winning content delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up for our Daily Rundown.

Signup today!
Like what you're reading? Support independent, award-winning college journalism on this site. Donate here.

Powered by Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2022 Indiana Daily Student