sports   |   men's soccer

Five former Hoosiers named to the College Soccer News’ All-Decade Teams


Then-senior defender Andrew Gutman celebrates after IU's NCAA Tournament quarterfinal win against the University of Notre Dame on Nov. 30, 2018, at Bill Armstrong Stadium. Gutman was named to the College Soccer News’ Team of the Decade on Wednesday, the only Hoosier to make the first team roster. IDS file photo and Matt Begala

Five former Indiana men’s soccer players were selected for either the first, second or third teams on the College Soccer News’ Team of the Decade on Wednesday.

Former defenseman Andrew Gutman was the lone Hoosier named to the first team. Gutman wrapped up his collegiate career by winning the MAC Hermann Trophy, awarded to the top college soccer player, and guiding the Hoosiers to the College Cup for the second consecutive year in 2018. He was a unanimous First-Team All-American and Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year after scoring 11 goals and adding nine assists.

Midfielder Tanner Thompson and defenseman Grant Lillard were selected to the second team. Thompson’s accolades include being named back-to-back Big Ten Midfielder of the Year and making the First-Team All-Big Ten squad three straight years from 2014 to 2016.

In his senior year, Lillard was a key factor for the best defensive group in the nation. Under his leadership, IU led the nation with 18 shutouts and seven goals allowed in 2017.

Forward Will Bruin and goalkeeper Trey Muse round out the group on the third team. Bruin was named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year after leading the nation with 18 goals scored and 41 points in the 2010 campaign.

Muse was dominant as a freshman in 2018, recording 18 shutouts, matching the NCAA and IU single-season records.

IU tied Stanford University with five total players selected across the All-Decade teams. It also surpasses the three IU players selected from the previous decade’s list.

Like what you're reading? Support independent, award-winning college journalism on this site. Donate here.

More in Sports

Comments powered by Disqus