IU Professors honored for Bicentennial work

Earlier this year, Indiana celebrated 200 years of statehood and several IU professors have been honored for their work on the Bicentennial Commission at the Bicentennial Gala on Dec. 10.

Vice President-elect and Gov. Mike Pence and Governor-elect Lt. Governor Eric Holcomb presented the 15 members of the commission, including IU professors James Madison and Lee Hamilton, with the Sagamore of the Wabash award.

IU Alum Sam Alderfer, who worked as social media coordinator for the commission, was also awarded a Sagamore for his work, according to a Indiana Bicenntenial Commission press release.

The Sagamore of the Wabash is one of the highest awards that can be awarded in Indiana. The term “sagamore” was used by Native American tribes of Indiana to indicate lesser chiefs or great men within the tribe who were worthy of respect.

Hamilton currently serves as a Distinguished Scholar and professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs.

Madison is a professor emeritus of the Department of History at IU and has written several books, including one “Hoosiers: A New History of Indiana” which chronicles the history of Indiana from the Ice Age to today.

Dominick Jean

Like what you're reading? Support independent, award-winning college journalism on this site. Donate here.

Comments powered by Disqus