Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Saturday, April 20
The Indiana Daily Student

community events

Local club to recognize officer

The Northside Exchange Club of Bloomington will be honoring a Monroe County police officer today as the 2014 Police Officer of the Year in its 54th annual awards dinner.
The Exchange Club is a national service organization for men and women who want to serve their community, develop leadership skills and enjoy each others’ fellowship.

The Exchange Club Programs of Service is divided into four main areas: Americanism, Youth Program, Child Abuse Prevention and Community Service.

“As part of Community Service, we recognize and express our appreciation for police officers and firefighters who serve the community,” said Ken Todd, Exchange Club member and chair of the Officer of the Year awards.

“We select and honor a Police Officer of the Year and Firefighter of the Year from county departments annually.”

The Exchange Club solicits nominations from Monroe County’s five law enforcement agencies: the sheriff’s department, the Bloomington Police Department, the IU Police Department, the Indiana State Police and the Ellettsville Police Department.

After receiving one nomination from the department chiefs of each respective agency, the Exchange Club’s selection committee reviews the nominations before determining the Officer of the Year.

“Nominations by department chiefs may be based on a specific act, such as an act of heroism, a life-saving act or solving a particularly significant or complicated crime,” Todd said.

The nomination can also be based on years of distinguished service, overall excellence in the performance of duty or commitment to the enhancement of the department’s mission, Todd said.

The Northside Exchange Club then appoints a selection committee that reviews the nominations and makes the selection, he said.

The Officer of the Year will be announced at the award dinner.

The first Monroe County Police Officer of the Year was named in 1961.

“This year marks the 54th consecutive year in which we have held an award dinner attended by the chiefs of each county law enforcement agency, past recipients of the award, current nominees, elected officials and others to honor each of the nominees and announce an Officer of the Year,” Todd said.

Get stories like this in your inbox