Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Thursday, May 23
The Indiana Daily Student

academics & research

Professor honored with lifetime physics award

IU Professor S.Y. Lee is set to receive an award for Lifetime Achievement in Accelerator Physics and Technology from the U.S. Particle Accelerator School.
The USPAS awards two achievement prizes every year, according to a press release. The award honors individual achievements in leadership and vision in machine building, as well as the direction of young
The institution gave Lee an additional Lifetime Achievement Award to commend his accelerator education through his leadership of the IU-USPAS Master’s Degree Program in Accelerator Physics.
Lee has taught in IU’s Department of Physics since 1990 and served as the USPAS director from 1998 to 2002. He has also helped write five books and more than 125 journal articles.
One of Lee’s recent notable projects includes his work in designing a system for achieving very high beam intensities in the ALPHA electron storage ring at IU’s Center for Exploration of Energy and Matter.
Robert De Ruyter, professor of physics and chair of the Department of Physics, said Lee’s award is well-deserved.
“He has been very prolific, both in his scientific achievements and in education, including the mentoring of graduate students,” Ruyter said.

— Samantha Schmidt

Get stories like this in your inbox