Cutters win second straight Little 500 title


Chris Pickrell Chris Pickrell

On a cold and wet afternoon, the Cutters won their ninth Little 500 championship, becoming the first team to repeat as champions at Bill Armstrong Stadium.

“We had targets on our back all day,” Cutters senior Paul Sigfusson said. “Nine championships says something in itself. Then to repeat as champions on this track – it’s never been done – is a whole other story. I have no words for that. Two rings in two years is something else.”

Seven teams were on the lead lap for most of the race before the Cutters pulled away roughly at lap 180. The race for second place came down to the wire with Team Major Taylor edging Dodds House, Alpha Tau Omega and Phi Kappa Psi in that order.

The Cutters turned in an unofficial time of 2:10.00, 22 seconds ahead of Team Major Taylor. Senior Sasha Land rode the final leg for the Cutters, raising his hands in triumph as he took the checkered flag. Land and Sigfusson rode for last year’s championship team and fellow senior Erik Hamilton rode for the Cutters for the first time this year.

“Sending these guys out with a win is amazing,” Cutters junior Clayton Feldman said of the team’s seniors. “It’s amazing riding with these guys, because you know you’re riding with guys people will talk about for a long time.”

See Monday’s Indiana Daily Student for full coverage of the Little 500.

Like what you're reading? Support independent, award-winning college journalism on this site. Donate here.

More in Sports

Comments powered by Disqus