Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Saturday, June 22
The Indiana Daily Student


Athletic department gives yearly awards

The IU athletic department handed out its end-of-the-year awards Wednesday, honoring former men's basketball player Kirk Haston and senior women's swimmer Jenn Cristy as the male and female athletes of the year. \nHaston was named third-team All-American and first-team All-Big Ten, and Cristy earned All-American honors in the 50-yard freestyle, 100-yard freestyle, 200-yard freestyle and 200-meter freestyle relay. Senior women's basketball team member Heather Cassidy earned the Anita Aldrich Leadership Award, former men's soccer player Matt Funderberger earned the Jake Gimbel Award and senior tennis players Ian Arons and Jennifer Hsia received the Big Ten Medal of Honor.\nThe athletic department also honored one member from each varsity sport with the Balfour award, and the the Aline Robinson Mental Attitude Award for a member of each women's varsity sport.\nThose receiveing women's Balfour awards were Jill Hartman (basketball), Allyson Hammond (cross country), Erin Quinn (diving), Natalie Tucker (golf), Margaret Shelsey (rowing), Kendal Willis (soccer), Brooke Monroe (softball), Jenn Cristy (swimming), Kelly Blanch (tennis), Lorraine Dunlop (track and field), Amanda Welter (volleyball) and Kristin Stanford (water polo).\nWinning awards for the men were Blake St. Clair (baseball), Kirk Haston (basketball), Aaron Gillen (cross country), Tom Davidson (diving), Antwaan Randle El (football), Richard Thomas (golf), Matt Fundenberger (soccer), Will Bernhardt (swimming), Milan Rakvica (tennis), Dino Efithimiou (track and field) and Victor Sveda (wrestling).\nThose female student-athletes awarded the Aline Robinson Mental Attitude Award were: Heather Cassady (basketball), Allyson Hammond (cross country), Erin Quinn (diving), Tiffany Fisher (golf), Tania Hults (field hockey), Erin Koers (rowing), Jena Kluska (soccer), Melissa Narewski (softball), Susan Woessner (swimming), Karie Schlukebir (tennis), Lorraine Dunlop (track and field), Joanne Amstutz (volleyball) and Molly Fonner (water polo).

Get stories like this in your inbox