Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Friday, May 24
The Indiana Daily Student

campus student life

Meet IU's most celebrated alumni


Suzanne Collins  

Suzanne Collins is an American author and television writer. She is best known as the author of the young adult dystopian book series “The Hunger Games.” These revolutionary young adult books, titled “The Hunger Games,” “Catching Fire” and “Mockingjay," were New York Times bestsellers, received worldwide praise and the basis for four popular film adapatations. She is also the author of the best-selling children's fantasy series "The Underland Chronicles."  

Over the years, Collins has won numerous awards for her writing, including the Kids Choice Awards for Favorite Book in 2013 and the Goodreads Choice Awards Best Young Adult Fantasy and Science Fiction in 2010. Outside of writing, she advocates for children's literacy and has worked with several charities to promote books and reading. 

She graduated from Indiana University with a Bachelor of Arts in Theater and Telecommunications. 

Mark Cuban 

Mark Cuban is an American entrepreneur, film producer, investor, philanthropist, television personality and author. In 2023, he held the #221 spot on the Forbes 400 list with an estimated net worth of $6.2 billion. Additionally, Cuban has made significant strides in various industries, having served as the former owner of the Dallas Mavericks and co-owner of 2929 Entertainment. He is a prominent figure on the ABC reality TV show “Shark Tank.” Beyond his business endeavors, Cuban is renowned for his philanthropic contributions.  

During his time at Indiana University Bloomington, Cuban was a member of the Pi Lambda Phi Fraternity and engaged in several entrepreneurial pursuits, including operating a bar and even offering disco lessons! He graduated from Indiana University in 1981 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Management.  

Victor Oladipo 

Victor Oladipo is a professional basketball player for the Miami Heat of the NBA. He gained recognition during his college years with the Indiana Hoosiers, where he distinguished himself in the 2012-2013 season when he was honored as the Sporting News Men's College Basketball Player of the Year and received accolades such as Co-NABC Defensive Player of the Year and first-team All-American by both the USBWA and Sporting News.  

He is also a recipient of the prestigious Adolph Rupp Trophy — awarded annually to the top player in men's NCAA Division I basketball. In his final semester, he led the Hoosiers to a conference championship.  

He graduated from Indiana University in 2013 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in sports communications.  

This article is part of the Source Visitor’s Guide, an IDS special publication.

Get stories like this in your inbox