Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Tuesday, Feb. 27
The Indiana Daily Student

student govt

Voting for the IUSG election begins today. Here's what campaigns are pushing for.


Voting for the IU Student Government election will start at 10 a.m. Wednesday and end at 10 p.m. Thursday, according to IUSG’s website. All students can vote and should receive a link to vote in their IU emails through BeInvolved.

Senior and IUSG election commission chair Quinn Gordon said the ballot will have a short biography of each ticket, which includes both campaigns, Inspire and Defy.

Sophomores Madeline Garcia and Arianna Hoye are running for student body president and vice president, respectively, on the Defy campaign. The campaign advocates for students who are dealing with homelessness, employment issues and other vulnerable students they feel are often left out of IUSG policy. 

IUSG presidential candidate Rachel Aranyi and vice president candidate Ruhan Syed, both sophomores, are running the Inspire campaign. The campaign’s platform includes pushing for a tuition freeze, a $15 minimum wage on campus and discouraging investment in fossil fuels.

Take a full look below at what each campaign supports below:

caiusgdebate041420 graphic
Graphic by Carson TerBush
Get stories like this in your inbox