sports   |   football

Vaughn Dunbar and Antwaan Randle El placed on 2019 College Football Hall of Fame ballot


Former IU quarterback Antwaan Randle El begins the option with DeWayne Hogan at his side during the Hoosiers' 2000 victory against the Iowa Hawkeyes at Memorial Stadium. Randle El and Vaughn Dunbar were placed on the 2019 College Football Hall of Fame ballot Monday. IDS file photo Buy Photos

The National Football Foundation announced Monday former IU quarterback Antwaan Randle El (1998-2001) and running back Vaughn Dunbar (1990-1991) are on the ballot for election to the College Football Hall of Fame in 2019. 

Randle El played for the Hoosiers at the turn of the millennium and earned Big Ten MVP and first-team All-American Honors in 2001, which led to a sixth-place finish in Heisman voting in the 2001 season. 

He also won Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 1998, an award which is now called the Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year award. 

Randle El was the first player in NCAA history to pass for more than 6,000 yards and rush for more than 3,000 yards, along with scoring over 40 touchdowns and throwing at least another 40.

Dunbar played only two years for the Hoosiers, but still left records in IU history. He ranks in the all-time top 10 for IU in rushing yards (3,029), rushing touchdowns (25) and all-purpose yards (4,041).

He had a strong 1991 campaign, as he finished second in the nation in rushing (1,805) and all-purpose yards (2,330), which led to a sixth-place finish in the Heisman voting that year.

The inductees will be announced Jan. 7, 2019, in Santa Clara, California, prior to the College Football Playoff National Championship Game.

Michael Tilka 

Like what you're reading? Support independent, award-winning college journalism on this site. Donate here.

More in Sports

Comments powered by Disqus