sports   |   men's basketball

Five former Hoosiers to play in upcoming NBA Summer League


Former IU men's basketball player Robert Johnson shoots a layup during the Hoosiers' game against the Ohio State Buckeyes Feb. 23 at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall. Johnson is one of six former IU basketball players that will be participating in this year's NBA Summer League. Evan De Stefano Buy Photos

Five former IU men’s basketball players will be playing in the NBA Summer League for five different teams. 

The faces of IU basketball past that will be showing up in this year's Summer League include the likes of OG Anunoby playing for the Toronto Raptors, Troy Williams playing for the New York Knicks, Robert Johnson playing for the Atlanta Hawks, James Blackmon Jr. playing for the Milwaukee Bucks and Christian Watford playing for the Memphis Grizzles.

Thomas Bryant was expected to play with the Los Angeles Lakers in the NBA Summer League, but was waived by the team Saturday.

Johnson, who went undrafted in the 2018 NBA Draft, was picked up three days after the draft and signed to the Hawks' Summer League squad. He will be playing against Watford, who went undrafted in 2013 and spent the past season on Toronto’s G-League team, in the Utah Jazz Summer League. The Utah Jazz Summer League also features the San Antonio Spurs and the Jazz. 

This league begins July 2 and finishes July 5.

From July 6 to July 17, Anunoby, Williams and Blackmon will join the rest of the IU alums, and NBA teams, in the MGM Resorts NBA Summer league in Las Vegas. 

Williams just recently signed a multi-year contract with the Knicks after bouncing around the league with Memphis and Houston. Blackmon played for the 76ers' Summer League team last year after going undrafted, and Anunoby was drafted 23rd overall in the 2017 NBA Draft by Toronto and started for the Raptors this past season.

All six will be vying for the championship title currently owned by the Lakers, who won it last year.

Declan McLaughlin

Like what you're reading? Support independent, award-winning college journalism on this site. Donate here.

More in Sports

Comments powered by Disqus