sports   |   football

Tom Allen shares roster updates with spring ball around the corner


Coach Tom Allen and Athletics Director Fred Glass walk down "The Walk" prior to the Indiana football game on Sept. 23, 2017. IU will open up home play on Saturday against Virginia. Bobby Goddin Buy Photos

IU Coach Tom Allen announced Thursday that a trio of Hoosiers will take medical non-qualifier status to remain with the program but no longer have playing eligibility. 

Speaking at a post-signing day press conference, Allen said freshman linebacker Tom Bolstad, sophomore safety Jameel Cook Jr. and freshman offensive lineman Tyler Knight will all take medical non-qualifiers. They will retain their scholarships and be around the program, Allen said, but each has given up the remainder of his eligibility. 

None of the three saw any game action in the 2017 season, and Bolstad and Cook dealt with major injuries in 2016. Cook, after playing eight games and scoring a touchdown on an interception in 2015, missed all but one game in 2016 due to injury. Bolstad appeared in two games in 2016 and then missed the rest of the season with an injury.

In addition to the three medical non-qualifiers, Allen announced junior defensive back Tyler Green will transfer from IU after playing three seasons with the Hoosiers. Green appeared in all 12 games in 2017 after starting the 2016 Foster Farms Bowl and forcing a fumble in that game. He finished his IU career with 29 tackles in 31 games.

Freshman Jonah Morris has been switched from a wide receiver to a defensive player ahead of his sophomore season, Allen also said. Morris redshirted in 2016 and appeared in nine games on special teams in 2017. He was named IU's special teams player of the game in a win at Illinois in November. Allen said Morris will likely play defensive back, but he is still finding a fit.

Spring practice is set to begin on March 3 for the Hoosiers, with the spring game being scheduled for Saturday, April 1. 

Jake Thomer

Like what you're reading? Support independent, award-winning college journalism on this site. Donate here.

More in Sports

Comments powered by Disqus