Indiana Daily Student

20 Hoosiers earn Academic All-Big Ten

From IDS reports

Twenty IU football players earned Academic All-Big Ten honors, the conference announced Wednesday.

This marks the fourth consecutive season at least 20 Hoosiers have earned the honor, setting a program record. Coincidentally, IU Coach Kevin Wilson has been at the helm of the program all four seasons.

For a student athlete to be eligible for the conference honor, he must be in at least his second academic year at an institution and carry a grade-point average of at ? least 3.0.

Wilson’s 92 Academic All-Big Ten award winners sets a program record. IU had 24 honorees in 2011, 22 in 2012 and a school-record 26 in 2013. During that time, Wilson has coached two of IU’s nine Academic All-Americans in Adam Replogle (2012) and most recently Mark Murphy, who earned the honor in 2013 and 2014.

Of the current Hoosiers to be honored, juniors Kyle Kennedy and Erich Toth and seniors Mark Murphy, Mike Replogle and Nick Stoner earned Academic All-Big Ten for a third time.

IU’s honorees are listed below in alphabetical order . Each star represents a time the athlete has been ?honored.

IU honorees

Jacob Bailey **
?Andre Booker **
?Nate Boudreau*
Michael Cooper*
Anthony Corsaro**
?Steven Funderburk* 
?Brandon Grubbe*
Shawn Heffern**
Michael Hunter**
?Arthur Jones*
?David Kaminski**
?Kyle Kennedy*** ?
Nick Mangieri**
Max Matthews*"
?Mark Murphy***
?Griffin Oakes*
Mike Replogle***
?Nick Stoner***
Nate Sudfeld**
?Erich Toth***

Like what you're reading?

Get more award-winning content delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up for our Weekly Recap.

Signup today!
Like what you're reading? Support independent, award-winning college journalism on this site. Donate here.

Powered by Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2022 Indiana Daily Student