Did IU score one more touchdown than they should have on Saturday? I just saw a link to this story - Wisconsin coach Bret Bielema is asking the Big Ten to review wide receiver David Gilreath's muffed punt in the first quarter that IU safety Collin Taylor recovered.
By rule, the receiving player has the opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground, even after muffing the punt.
When a valid fair catch signal is made, the unimpeded opportunity to catch a free or scrimmage kick is extended to a player who muffs the kick and still has an opportunity to complete the catch. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground. If the player subsequently catches the kick, the ball is placed where it was first touched.
Taylor caught the muffed punt before it ever hit the ground - a contention Bielema makes that Gilreath never had an opportunity to recover the ball. IU scored two plays later.
What do you think? If it was a bad call, did IU get away with a touchdown it didn't deserve?
Comments powered by Disqus
