Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Monday, April 15
The Indiana Daily Student

sports men's basketball women's basketball swimming & diving wrestling

IU winter athletes earn Big Ten all-academic honors


The Big Ten conference named 47 IU winter athletes to the conference all-academic team Monday.

"We take a great deal of pride in the academic accomplishments of our students, and I congratulate these 47 individuals who have performed at an exceptionally high level in the classroom," IU Athletic Director Fred Glass said in a press release. "The time, commitment and sacrifice that goes into this achievement cannot be overstated, and I applaud our students for this wonderful accomplishment."

Athletes from five Hoosier teams were selected, and the IU men’s and women’s swimming teams combined for 36 of the 47 awards. Rising junior swimmer Michael Draves was the lone athlete to record a perfect 4.0.

In order to be eligible for the honor, athletes must be enrolled in the school for at least one year and post a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better.

Here is the full list:

Men's basketball

Adrian Chapman (Senior)

Women's basketball

Grace Berger (Sophomore)

Ali Patberg (Junior)

Jaelynn Penn (Junior)

Brenna Wise (Senior)

Men's swimming and diving

Bruno Blaskovic (Junior)

Tucker Brock (Sophomore)

Wyeth Brock (Senior)

Andrew Capobianco (Junior)

Andrew Couchon (Sophomore)

Michael Draves (Sophomore)

Griffin Eiber (Junior)

Gabriel Fantoni (Junior)

Mory Gould (Junior)

Brandon Hamblin (Sophomore)

Gage Hamill (Junior)

Matt Jerden (Junior)

Jakub Karl (Sophomore)

Gary Kostbade (Junior)

Spencer Lehman (Junior)

Van Mathias (Sophomore)

Ben McDade (Sophomore)

Mohamed Samy (Senior)

Thomas Vanderbrook (Junior)

 Women's swimming and diving

Taylor Carter (Junior)

Laurel Eiber (Junior)

Josie Grote (Junior)

Grace Haskett (Junior)

Hope Hayward (Senior)

Maria Paula Heitmann (Senior)

Kallie Higgins (Junior)

Cassy Jernberg (Senior)

Abby Kirkpatrick (Junior)

Shelby Koontz (Senior)

Bailey Kovac (Junior)

Ashleigh Lechner (Sophomore)

Mackenzie Looze (Sophomore)

Kayla Luarde (Sophomore)

Noelle Peplowski (Sophomore)

Anne Rouleau (Junior)

Alyssa Wang (Sophomore)


Dillon Hoey (Junior)

Spencer Irick (Junior)

Jake Kleimola (Junior)

Kyle Luigs (Sophomore)

Jonathan Moran (Sophomore)

Joey Sanchez (Sophomore)

Get stories like this in your inbox