ANNOUNCEMENT   Jim Rodenbush named new director of IU Student Media | 49 minutes ago

2 professors awarded for research in chemistry

“It’s remarkable that, out of only 11 Cottrell Scholars in the nation this year, two are members of the chemistry faculty here at IU-Bloomington,” said David Giedroc, chair of the Department of Chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Carlson has also received a 2012 National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Award, which comes with a $500,000 grant.

Skrabalak received this same honor in 2010.

“Professors Carlson and Skrabalak are conducting groundbreaking research and combining it with exciting and innovative teaching,” Giedroc said. “We are extraordinarily proud of them and know they will accomplish great things.”

Other faculty members have won Cottrell awards in the past. They are Lane Baker, Mu-Hyun Baik and Nicola Pohl in the Department of Chemistry and Richard Van Kooten and Herbert Fertig in the Department of Physics.

Sydney Murray

Like what you're reading? Support independent, award-winning college journalism on this site. Donate here.

Comments powered by Disqus