2 professors awarded for research in chemistry

POSTED AT 11:00 PM ON Sep. 12, 2012  (UPDATED AT 11:11 PM ON Sep. 12, 2012)


Erin Carlson and Sara Skrabalak, professors of chemistry, are two of 11 people awarded Cottrell Scholar awards this year.

“It’s remarkable that, out of only 11 Cottrell Scholars in the nation

this year, two are members of the chemistry faculty here at

IU-Bloomington,” said David Giedroc, chair of the Department of

Chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Carlson has also received a 2012 National Science Foundation Faculty

Early Career Development Award, which comes with a $500,000 grant.

Skrabalak received this same honor in 2010.

“Professors Carlson and Skrabalak are conducting groundbreaking research

and combining it with exciting and innovative teaching,” Giedroc said.

“We are extraordinarily proud of them and know they will accomplish great things.”

Other faculty members have won Cottrell awards in the past. They are

Lane Baker, Mu-Hyun Baik and Nicola Pohl in the Department of Chemistry

and Richard Van Kooten and Herbert Fertig in the Department of Physics.

Sydney Murray


Sign in or create your account to add a comment.



Guidelines: Please keep your comments civil and do not attack other readers personally. Use the "Report Abuse" link if a comment/response violates these standards or our terms of service

2000 characters left



Your Name: *
Your Email: *  
To Email: *  
Subject: | 2 professors awarded for research in chemistry
Verify image: Security Text


Letter to the Editor

Your Name: *
Your Email: *  
Your Telephone#: *  
To Email:,
Subject: Letter to the Editor
Verify image: Security Text