Our Awards

Search Awards by Student

From the launch of Indiana Daily Student in February 1867 through the debut of www.idsnews.com in 1996, we have been blessed to receive the praise and commendation from many student journalism groups. Below are descriptions of major college awards and a library of our awards by year.

Indiana Collegiate Press Association View

Inland Daily Press Association View

Associated Collegiate Press View

The Pacemaker Award is considered by some to be the “Pulitzer Prize” of college journalism. Presented annually by the Associated Collegiate Press at the National College Media Convention, he award is given to a handful of newspapers, magazines, yearbooks and student media web sites for general excellence and outstanding achievement. The Indiana Daily Student has won nine Newspaper Pacemaker Awards in the last twenty-seven years and has been a finalist four times for the award during the same period. In 1994, the Associated Collegiate Press inducted the Indiana Daily Student into its the Hall of Fame and in 2001 they inducted the Arbutus Yearbook.

Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence View

Each year the Society of Professional Journalists hands out the Mark of Excellence Awards honoring the best in student print, broadcast and online journalism. Entries are first judged on one of twelve regional levels. First place regional winners are then forwarded on to a national competition. The Indiana Daily Student has won five national Mark of Excellence awards for best all-around daily student newspaper, including back-to-back national awards in 2004 and 2005, and has been a five-time national finalist for the award.

Hoosier State Press Association View

The Hoosier State Press Association Foundation believes in free speech and a free press benefit all citizens and help preserve constitutional rights. The HSPA Foundation exists to foster public understanding of the role of a free press in society, to increase public literacy, to enhance the ability of Indiana newspapers to fully educate and inform the public, and to defend the principles of the First Amendment of the United States Constitution.

Columbia Scholastic Press Association View

The Gold Crown, given annually by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association as its highest honor, is awarded to a very select group of college newspapers and yearbooks for outstanding achievement in writing, editing, design, and production. The IDS has won sixteen Gold Crowns since 1997, at times winning two per year to honor the student staffs of both academic semesters in a school year. In 2006 and 2007, the Indiana Daily Student won two of the four distributed Gold Crowns, one honoring for each semester of publication.

College Newspaper Business & Advertising Managers View

Editor & Publisher EPpy View

Since 1996, the EPpy Awards have honored the best new media services from the newspaper industry. In 2003, the awards were expanded for the first time to honor the best work in the online field by media outlets, including newspapers, radio, and broadcast/cable TV. Each year, an independent panel of industry experts selects the top examples of interactive services in a variety of categories. The awards are cosponsored by E&P and Mediaweek magazines.

Student Society for Newspaper Design View

Michigan State University Design Contest for College Students View

Roy W. Howard National Collegiate Reporting Competition View

The Scripps Howard Foundation, with the Indiana University School of Journalism, established the Roy W. Howard National Collegiate Reporting Competition in 1984 to honor the memory of the journalist who led Scripps Howard Newspapers from 1922-1953 and United Press International from 1912-1920. Until 2006, the winners received scholarships and their college newspapers were awarded grants. But in 2006, the foundation and School of Journalism revamped the awards to include a 13-day guided tour to Japan and South Korea for nine national scholars.

College Publisher Awards of Excellence View

National Soccer Coaches of America Writing Contest Winner View

The William Randolph Hearst Foundation View

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is presented annually under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication (ASJMC) with full-funding by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The program's mission is to encourage and support excellence in journalism and journalism education in America's colleges and universities.

Scripps Howard Foundation View

College Media Advisers View

American Scholastic Press Association View

Indiana Better Newspaper Contest View

Curtis D. MacDougall Awards in College Journalism View

Indianapolis Press Club Foundation View

The Indianpolis Press Club Foundation is an organization created by the Indianapolis Press Club in 1990 to support journalism education in Indiana. Each year, the Foundation awards scholarship grants to undergraduate and graduate college students and provides support to college journalism programs.

SportsDesigner.com View

Indiana News Photographers Association View

Society of Professional Journalists - Indiana Professional Chapter View

McClatchy Tribune Comics Contest View

Our Awards By Year

Our Awards By Publication

Advertise with us