Teter, Delta Tau Delta take Team Pursuit titles

Delta Tau Delta wins rematch in final heat
Early Saturday afternoon, Phi Delta Theta and Delta Tau Delta met in their first heat for Team Pursuit.

Little did they know they would meet again in the finals.

After Phi Delt won the first matchup, Delta Tau Delta came back and won the finals and its second consecutive Team Pursuit title, finishing the 15-lap race with a time of 9:11.96.

The Delts got off to a fast start in the finals, taking an early four-second lead against Phi Delta Theta. Though Phi Delt closed the gap to nearly a tie midway through the race, Delta Tau Delta retook a large lead and never looked back, taking the title along the way.

Despite that, however, Phi Delta Theta’s second-place finish ensured them of the Spring Series title with 56 points. They will be wearing the white jerseys on race day.

Finishing in third place was Little 500 pole-sitter Beta Theta Pi, with the Cutters and Black Key Bulls rounding out the top five.

Teter takes third straight

Teter’s cycling team hopes that three is going to be their lucky number this year as it looks for its third consecutive Little 500 crown.

On Saturday, three definitely was a lucky number.

Teter surged to its third consecutive Team Pursuit title in a time of 8:23.99, topping Individual Time Trials and Miss-N-Out champion Kathleen Chelminiak and Kappa Alpha Theta in the finals.

The defending Little 500 titlists dominated throughout the day, passing Army Women during their first heat in an 8:14.49 finish, and keeping a steady lead against Kappa Alpha Theta in the finals.

Saturday’s victory ensured Teter of the Spring Series title, meaning the team will hold the rights to the white, green and yellow jerseys, the first time for any team since Kappa Kappa Gamma did it in 2005.

Rounding out the top five for the women were Wing It Cycling, Delta Gamma and Cru Cycling.

— Jordan Littman

More in Sports

Comments powered by Disqus