Indiana Daily Student Logo

Teter’s Van Kooten takes 2nd straight Spring Series event; Phi Delt’s Sharp wins Miss ‘N Out


By Stephanie Kuzydym

The win was Van Kooten's second straight Spring Series victory this year. Only two weeks remain for the 60th Men’s Little 500, and one day less for the Women’s Little 500.

From first in ITTs to first in Miss ‘N Out, Van Kooten crossed the finish line her back straight, not with her bike but with the Teter fans cheering in the background. Van Kooten made it through three heats to compete in the final race.

Rounding the final turn, Sharp led the way in front of BKB’s Stephen Quay and Phi Delta Theta teammate Baxter Burnworth.

The final women’s heat:

Caitlin Van Kooten – Teter -first
Caroline Brown – Pi Beta Phi -second
Lauren Half – Delta Gamma -third
Jennifer Balbach – Kappa Delta
Katie Sauter – Kappa Kappa Gamma
Ellen Knecht – Alpha Gamma Delta

The final men’s heat:

Steve Sharp – Phi Delta Theta -first
Stephen Quay – Black Key Bulls -second
Baxter Burnworth – Phi Delta Theta-third
Andrew Morrow – Sigma Chi
David Richardson-Rossbach – DU
Nick Sovinski – Phi Delta Theta

Like what you are reading? Support independent, award-winning college journalism on this site. Donate here.

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Indiana Daily Student.